The lowercase "e" and the "c"!

Matheus FragosoMatheus Fragoso Posts: 14
edited April 2014 in Technique and Theory
Hi! I'm new to this forum, so let me present myself. I am a graphic designer who lives in Rio and have always loved and admired calligraphy and typography. I try to study and read the most that I can, but sometimes (ok, every time), only the opinion of someone more experienced and with a very good eye to help someone who is beginning on the subject. I want to draw my first type family and as a beginner, I just want it to be usable and honest.

Ok, my first question may sound silly:
What are known "acceptable" ending terminal cuts, specially on the bottom of lowercase "e" and both endings of lowercase "c"? Is there a "wrong" kind of terminal angle of cut?
Tagged:

Comments

• Nick ShinnNick Shinn Posts: 2,131
    No. The important thing is consistency* of terminals with other letters, and how /c and /e fit with following letters.

*I don’t mean that they should all be the same, only that the nature of consistency should be an important consideration of the typeface design.
  • Thank you, Nick! As soon as I get the courage, I'll post a picture of the "e" and "c" that I drew.
  • Matheus: Welcome! May I also suggest that you start with something simple and relatively limited in scope? Just begin with a few letters, such as n, o, a, c, e, f, g, v, and s?
  • Thanks, David! I actually started with an /n and an /a. Then I started drawing and adjusting as I went on. I showed this to a friend and type designer and he told me that my /e terminal cut looked strange. So I redrew the /e and the /c. I guess it looked really strange, but I don't want to give up, I want to go on and learn with this!
  • Indeed, my /o is looking very strange (outside outline not corresponding to inside outline, unbalanced and the /v is too dark in color. (Guess the /v diagonals must have a kind of "inktrap" so it doesn't get too dark.)