Getting the ball rolling / FontLab hinting, kerning help

Hello, all! I have a rather broad question. Let me start by saying that I am not a type designer by trade, nor do I have any formal training in type design. I'm a graphic designer who fell in love with type years ago and has been drawing it ever since. I bought FontLab shortly after my infatuation began, but, due to the combination of my perfectionist approach to everything and FontLab's rather steep learning curve, I've yet to produce any fonts other than those for my own personal use on various projects.

I have a handful of typefaces fully drawn that I'd love to turn into full-fledged, high-quality fonts that could then be sold either on my own website or through a distributor. They were drawn in Illustrator, and then I imported the glyphs into FontLab. Now I'm stuck on hinting and kerning, and no matter how carefully I read the FontLab manual, I still end up feeling out of my depth and with no clue where to start. Does anyone have any tips or resources for a novice like myself?

Related question: As most of these are display typefaces meant for use in graphic design applications, how in-depth do I realistically need to get with all of this to make the fonts market-ready?

Thank you in advance for indulging me!

Comments

• Forget the hinting (aside from auto-hinting, but most distributors nowadays will help you with that / you can get into that once the rest works), and focus on the kerning.
  • Kerning is not really problematic to run through. (depending on your amount of weights and how you built your files) It will make your types more usable, but if it's all display, designers will fuss with it anyway, regardless how well it is kerned. (or will even turn on optical kerning...)