Tantular - humanist sans for latin & various Indonesian scripts

Aditya BayuAditya Bayu Posts: 5
edited May 2015 in Type Design Critiques
Hi TypeDrawers, this is my first post and one of my first font so let me give a little background.

I'm a self-taught typeface designer from Indonesia. My works are previously focused on fonts for traditional Indonesian scripts, and it's only recently that I've started to make latin typefaces. Hence, I seek opinions on my recent sans font.

Tantular is a humanist sans-serif that sought to create a harmonious style for aesthetically very diverse scripts: Latin, Balinese, Batak, Bugis, and Kawi. My goal to create a legible body text type for all of these scripts, and in doing this, different treatment is given to each script, keeping in line with their distinct features and text formats. As of now, I'm quite content with the current shapes, but I would greatly appreciate your thoughts.

I've already include a lot of characters, but I'm still trying to make a proof that includes them all. Here's the one that includes most of the latin characters tantular proof2.pdf. Non-latin characters and text can be viewed here https://www.behance.net/gallery/25835209/Multi-script-font-Tantular.

Thank you

Comments

• Wes AdamsWes Adams Posts: 59
    edited May 2015
    Hi Aditya, this is some impressive work, especially given the scope of the project.

I see a handful of technical details that are common weaknesses especially in sans serif designs. Good sans serifs are not monolinear though they tend to create that impression. I know of two ways to describe the situation.