Nemo Italic

Hello everyone!

This is my first attempt of designing an italic semi-serif display typeface. The thing with this italic is that is has to part from a roman earlier designed by my work colleagues. You will see attached the roman version and the italic as well. The roman is an experiment inspired by Filosofia type. You will notice that it lacks a certain coherent construction system. With this in mind I tried to maintain the semi-serif characteristic, and also the original idea to have less weight on the base of the letters. Also, I want my result not to appear so similar with the Filosofia type.

I noticed that some characters are more cursive than others that seem to be more oblique. I have a big dilema with the small z, where I tried to compensate the lack of weight with a longer tail. But it becomes too swirly. Characters like v and w seem more thiner than the rest. The V and W look pretty weird, and tend to fall on the right side.

If the regular A has bottom serifs can the italic A change intro a upward one? If the regular base endings are straight, can they be a little rounded an oblique in the italic?

The font lacks kerning and punctuation.

It would be really great to have your feedback! Any comments and suggestions are much appreciated.

Thank you!

Comments

• Mike DugganMike Duggan Posts: 237
    hi , I cant open the pdf. might be a reason nobody replied?
  • I just tried them and they open fine.

Quick comment about the italic: word spacing is at least twice as wide as it should be; roman spacing is much better.
  • Mike, try mousing over the icons and clicking the file names, rather than clicking the icons.

Sabina, try taking another look at the junctures, where the arches join the main stem on the lower case. Some look a bit dark and clogged, and may need a bit of thinning.