Parametric vs Interpolated fonts

Hi,

I'm currently studying about parametric fonts and interpolated fonts, and there's something that I can't quite understand. In his article, James Shimada (2006*) says that Multiple Master and TrueType GX fonts are a form of parameterized outlines. These are the same as parametric fonts? 

Parametric fonts are a sort of automated design, but can be Multiple Master and TrueType GX parametric fonts either?

Thank you

*https://courses.cs.washington.edu/courses/csep590/06au/projects/font-wars.pdf 

Comments

• Hrant H. PapazianHrant H. Papazian Posts: 1,349
    edited May 16
    Parametric means the outlines are a result of calculations based on variables. Interpolated is at a lower level: outlines are "canned" instances between designed masters.
  • Thomas PhinneyThomas Phinney Posts: 1,403
    edited May 16
    Parametric fonts are not really “automated design,” in my opinion. They are a label for a group of technologies.

An individual parametric font is a font which can be varied within some parameters. Although no doubt some day the design portion will be automated, today there is still actual design done by a human to create each parameterized font.

In some parametric technologies (for example, Font Chameleon), an individual font once set up can then be varied even in ways beyond what the designer explicitly dealt with in detail. But even then it is only because that capability was baked in from the beginning. In most parametric technologies, the designer has to explicitly create each design axis. (Yes, slight simplification. One can for instance use a weight axis plus anisotropic interpolation to create a first draft of a width or contrast axis. But most axes are not so easy to get to—and even when they are, they usually need fixing after the initial creation.)