Font Licensing: The Type Unite initiative

Thomas CarlsenThomas Carlsen Posts: 20
edited August 2016 in Type Business

Hi, my name is Thomas Carlsen and I'm a graphic designer and founder of Type Unite. We voluntary inform universities, companies and graphic designers about the importance of font licensing by sending out this free license placard. Typeface piracy is a big problem (Steven Heller 2015, Wired Magazine) and 60% of us are font pirates (Jim Kidwell 2013, Extensis). Type Unite have listed "all" the foundries in the world on our webpage so students and graphic designers easily can find and buy the fonts from their favourite foundry. We have been given this video from Danielle Hall for use on our site, worth a peek! We support the intellectual work and wish more pepole could buy fonts instead of downloading it illegally from pirate sites. What are your professional thougths about this voluntary iniative?

Thank you for sharing your wisdom and support with us, we support you back, always!

Comments

• You ‘voluntarily inform’ universities, companies and designers about licensing. Which ones, who, and why? You use a huge set of foundry names, and it sure comes across like an endorsement. Have you asked any of the many labeled foundries whether they want you to pre-emptively police license enforcement for them? I try to assume the best in people, and sending them Big Org-style ‘license reminders’ has the feeling of doing the opposite.

I’m curious to hear from @JoyceKetterer and @Katy Mawhood in particular, as well.