Vuit Grotesk, a project to learn typeface design

Hello,

My name is Matthieu Salvaggio, I'm a graphic design student at the ESAD of Valence (France).
I've always been interested in Typeface design. Some months ago (January) I decided to give it a try, a real one (so far I had designed few glyphs for other fonts during internships or for some text infos on posters) so I decided to work on a lineal typeface. The overall concept is quite simple: I'm trying to design something clear, a real useful reading tool for long texts.

Now, I know I'm a novice in this field, I've been looking at other kind of lineal typefaces, how they are built and shaped and I inspired myself from those (mostly grotesk typefaces such as Atlas, Akzidenz, etc.), adding some other elements to the glyphs in order to make it more "readable". I've tried to add as few details as I could as I want it to be really simple and I've grown up to be fed up with grotesque typefaces with so many details on them I end up looking more at the details of the glyphs than reading the text. The few details I allowed myself to have some fun with are the ones you can find on the /t/, the /l/ as I found some lineal fonts might be tricky to read concerning the /I/ and /l/ designs (even though there are differences).
As I said I'm a novice, this is more of an excercise for me to learn how to build a typeface and learn a bit about font development/font softwares (fontlab/glyphs). So I know it will need a lot of work before it is a correct, professional type.

If you please you can totally ignore the cyrillic glyphs shown in the image attached as they need an *immense* amount of work and I'll focus on them after I'm done with the Latin/Latin extended

So I'm really eager to hear your advices and comments on how to improve it. I'm really excited about continuing this project to its fulfilment 

Thanks in advance for reading this.

Matthieu

Tagged:

Comments