Question Re: Pricing Structure for Exclusive Licensing on a Custom Typeface Design?

Hello folks!

This is my first post here, so hopefully I'm in the correct sub. If not, mods, please let me know and I'll move it along. After doing a few searches I wasn't able to find quite what it is I'm trying to figure out, so here goes:

I'm trying to price out my first custom display face for a potential client. I've figured out what I believe to be a fair baseline price for time/labor, and now I would like to include a pricing structure for varying levels of exclusivity of use. Would it be wise to do so by percentages of the final fee? For example:

Non-exclusive license: 100%
1 Year Exclusive license: 125%
3 Year Exclusive license: 150%
5 Year Exclusive license: 175%
License in Perpetuity: 200%
Full Rights Buyout: 300%

Does something like this make sense? I'm rather new to the concept of licensing—especially with type—and would love to keep it fair for both parties. Any advice would be massively appreciated!

—AE

Comments

• James PuckettJames Puckett Posts: 1,967
    It’s important to consider the retail value of a typeface when pricing the rights. If someone wants to you crank out one more knockoff of Gotham or Frutiger, or to revive a set of quirky historical letters, it’s best to just get paid up front and not plan on making much money from retail sales.
  • It’s important to consider the retail value of a typeface when pricing the rights. If someone wants to you crank out one more knockoff of Gotham or Frutiger, or to revive a set of quirky historical letters, it’s best to just get paid up front and not plan on making much money from retail sales.
    Fair point, James; thanks for the insight. I'm pricing out 3 separate projects, all based on the original painted wayfinding throughout an historic stadium, so you're spot-on.  I'll let you know how it goes. Hope you're well!

• SiDaniels said: