Lettering based on Kelmscott Press

Hello fellow typophiles!

I'm working on a stencil (drawn in Illustrator which will be laser cut into stencil board) and was hoping to get some feedback on my work so far since I'm still really new to lettering. My alphabet is based on work by William Morris but I've tried to give it a modern twist. I've also drawn florals to be printed behind each layer to ultimately create a two-colour stencil print. Any feedback whatsoever is appreciated!

Inspiration from Kelmscott: 
https://grorarebookroom.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/kelmscottshelley2-copy1.jpg
http://cdn.ilovetypography.com/img/2012/04/Kelmscottrossetti.jpg

Stencil I created last year, for reference on how the letters will ultimately be used. 

Comments

• The point of the Kelmscott Press was to do the opposite of contemporary book and type design. Morision reviled and vilified the modern letter. The two styles are almost polar opposites within the continuum of serifed types. So mixing them requires much forethought and subtlety. Your alphabet looks like capitals chosen at random from Kelmscott, the Bruce Foundry, and Atkinson. You need to put more thought into what features matter from each style and then apply them consistently throughout the design.
  • Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,376
    edited February 2016
    Letters on the right track: EFHIJLSTUZ
    Letters almost there: MN

I think if you test with words using those letters, you can make minor adjustments and it'll work. I don't know if I'd go around calling it based on William Morris but I feel like it would be along the lines of what I think you were going for.

The vertical O stress doesn't fit at all. Be careful that your modern twist doesn't rationalize all the good stuff away.

Steer clear of trends in period mainstream type such as the look-at-me R and the top heavy P. I think you should exercise restraint on the R. It's the most tempting letter to go a little nuts with but you've got to reign it in.