Arcane font licensing questions

Hi. First time caller

I have some font-embedding/licensing questions and I hope to learn some answers or at least get some leads.

First some quick background: In a nutshell, I’m a designer at a design, design research, and development company that creates UI/UX for new applications in addition to fixing/redesigning existing applications. We’ve been around for about 12-13 years and many of our engagements have been for web-based business applications.

Anyway, it’s really just within last few years that fonts outside stock OS libraries have been realistically viable for mainstream use (also much of our work has been for business/enterprise applications) so specifying non-standard fonts wasn’t even really an option — it was more like “Sigh. Well, are we using Arial, Verdana, or Trebuchet?” because everything else looked terrible on crappy corporate bulk-purchased monitors.

As we all know, thanks to Typekit et al, using non-system fonts in client work is easier, affordable and looks great blah blah blah. It’s no longer a compromise to design a cohesive suite of websites, web apps, print materials, and mobile apps that all respect the client's brand/style guide.