Options

Class based contextual positioning - how to?

I've tried using calt but it's not really working - i.e. it works fine in FontForge but generated fonts seem to ignore it. 
feature calt {
  pos @wide @narrow' <128 0 0 0> @narrow;
} calt; 
You can see the feature file here: https://github.com/larsenwork/monoid/blob/master/Utilities/RegularKerning.fea

I can't use standard kerning as the font is monospaced. 

Any suggestions? (I'm a bit new to all this - just playing around with the possibilities. 

Comments

• Options
    What application are you testing the font with after generation?
  • Options
    @George Thomas firefox, chrome, atom, xcode, textedit etc...not really working in any of them
    :neutral: 
  • Options
    I just tried it and your code works fine in Indesign and TextEdit (Mac). The font was compiled with a very recent version of makeOTF.
  • Options
    @Georg Seifert so you created it from source? Did you try the version on larsenwork.com/monoid first? 

How does one compile using makeOTF?
    :smile: 
  • Options
    @Georg Seifert I just had quick go with makeOTF (never used it before) but ran into this issue: 
    makeotfexe [FATAL] Glyph renaming is requested, but the Glyph Alias And Order DB file was not specified.
    This is the terminal command I used: 
    makeOTF -f /Users/andreaslarsen/Downloads/Monoid-2/Monoid-Regular.ttf -ff /Users/andreaslarsen/Git/Monoid/Utilities/All.fea -mf /Users/andreaslarsen/Git/Monoid/Utilities/FontMenuNameDB
    Any help is much appreciated.
  • Options
    Andreas LarsenAndreas Larsen Posts: 22
    edited July 2015
    Ah...is the DB file needed for the "sub" functions to work?

https://github.com/larsenwork/monoid/blob/master/Utilities/All.fea

Is there an automated way to generate that DB file...?
  • Options
    Paul van der LaanPaul van der Laan Posts: 242
    edited July 2015