Question from a (sort of) newbie

Chris DChris D Posts: 76
edited June 2015 in Technique and Theory
I am just getting back into type design after a long break, and I want to ask the experts here - what characters do you like to draw first when designing a new typeface? What's a good starting point for quickly testing out the strength of your idea applied to an alphabet? Do you head for lowercase letters first, or capitals, or numbers, or all at once?

Also is there a good post or article, or book you can reccomend, about type design workflows for pro designers? I've tried searching online but can only find basic articles about converting handwriting etc. I am a solo designer, and workshops and classes on type design are non existent where I live so learning online is where I need to turn to!

Cheers for your input, any guidance is massively appreciated!

Comments

• Robin MientjesRobin Mientjes Posts: 132
    edited June 2015
    For Latin, HO and no are a good start. They give you a lot of knowledge of the spacing, some proportions, most common gestures. I tend to also draw a d and p early on, as they indicate the vertical proportions and also force you to figure out straights and rounds in combination.

After that, there’s a whole set of things people recommend. Adhesives, hamburgers, hot dogs, duct tape, the list goes on!
  • Chris DChris D Posts: 76
    Fantastic. Thanks!
  • Dave CrosslandDave Crossland Posts: 1,389
    edited June 2015
    In the crafting type workshops, I recommend

- 'no': because they are straight/rounded on both sides, which is key for designing the initial amount of space in the sidebearings; then

- 'aeiuh': vowels and closely related letterforms which gives you immediately enough words using a test text generator to get a feel for the texture of text with these letters; then

- 'dbcswkg': letters with a variety of forms, to play with where the design can go and to challenge yourself (binocular/double story g)

- 'HO' 'AEIUR': add caps.